Healthy Chocolate Coffee Cake

We need to spend a few minutes talking about cake. Because, lets be honest, cake deserves to be talked about.

If there’s one thing that I might possibly miss since giving up dairy, it’s having undenied access to cake whenever I want it. You know the feeling. You’re out shopping and have reached that point in the afternoon when your feet are beginning to ache, you’ve already spent more than you meant to and you’ve still got several more shops to look around before you can even consider heading home. Or maybe you’re meeting up with a friend for a quick catch up (read: massive gossip session) after not seeing each other for a few weeks.Or, y’know, maybe its your birthday.

There are two things that are absolutely necessary in all these situations:

Coffee + Cake.

Naturally.

Coffee and fruit just doesn’t work in quite the same way.

Today I had the shopping cake cravings. Although they can be traced back to birthday cake cravings, thanks to the end of June/beginning of July being absolutely stuffed full of birthdays round here. My sister, my 5 year old cousin and my Granddad all munched down on multiple cake offerings over the weekend and, I’m not gonna lie, I had a touch of the food envy.

There was only one way to solve that. I needed to get baking. Fast.

This cake is so quick, so simple and actually really not that bad for you at all. The original recipe came from FatFree Vegan Kitchen and I first made it for my friend’s birthday back in February.

Just a word of warning: If you’re expecting a regular cake… this isn’t it. There’s a lot less sugar (I even halved the amount in the original recipe, which was low in sugar anyways), so it’s almost verging on chocolate bread…but it’s kinda addictive. Honest. I first made it for a friend’s birthday and she’s been asking for the recipe ever since. And I’ve had three pieces tonight already. We’re both a bit weird… but take this recipe and do with it what you will.

For this version I used raspberries instead of blueberries (I had frozen blueberries in the freezer, but there was no way I was waiting for them to defrost. This girl needed cake quicker than that) and added a tablespoon of ground coffee, to hit two cravings in one go.

Except I just realised that it’s 11pm… and I’m so sensitive to caffeine that I’ll probably be up all night now. Ah well. It was worth it.

1 1/4 cup wholemeal spelt flour
3 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp ground coffee (next time Imma brew this first, so you’ll add it with the wet ingredients not the dry; I was too eager and ended up with crunchy coffee bits, which I don’t mind, but it’d probably be nicer without)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 heaped tsp ground flax
pinch salt
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup raspberries
1 tsp balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup agave syrup or other liquid sweetener (normal people are going to want to increase this bigtime)

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees C/Gas mark 4. In a bowl, mix together your flour, cocoa powder, coffee, baking powder + soda, flax and salt.

Blend together your water, raspberries, vinegar and agave (I accidentally left the blender turned to high after making my breakfast smoothie this morning and this frothed up like crazy. Don’t do this.)

Make a hole in your dry mix and pour in your froth.

I also forgot to put the agave in the blender, so just added it to the bowl at this point. It didn’t seem to hurt it that much.

Mix together until totally combined, then bake for 30 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean.

It’ll be weird at first, I know. Most people will probably think it’s gross. But it totally satisfied my cake craving, so I’m sharing it with you anyways. You might even accidentally lick the bowl…

Like… with your face.

No one saw. It didn’t happen.

Arrange prettily on a plate with cherries, or just munch straight on down from the cake tin.

Now I’m off to try and sleep…sweet dreams :)

Leave a Reply

