Brushing your teeth.

I had a random memory of Mum today. I was reading outside in the sunshine and the book  – I won’t tell you which one, because it’s definitely not number 3 of the insanely popular, but terribly written, erotic chick-lit series – mentioned something about a character brushing their teeth before breakfast instead of after.

The smallest, most insignificant, sentence; but immediately my head was full of pictures of my Mum brushing her teeth, and then subsequent conversations when I’d ask her why her morning routine was that way around. It seemed completely ridiculous to me. You brush your teeth to freshen your mouth, so surely eating breakfast afterwards renders the whole operation entirely pointless. Plus, everyone knows that toothpaste + orange juice is the most disgusting thing ever.

And then I tried to remember the last time that I’d actively thought about her in that way… brought up forgotten images… relayed her voice over and over in my mind, and I realised that I couldn’t remember exactly. But at the same time, the thoughts didn’t feel new. They stung because they were at the surface, but it was as if these thoughts are there all the time. I would never have thought to tell anyone that my Mum had always brushed her teeth at, quite franky, the wrong moment every day; that’s a completely useless piece of information. And yet, I’m glad that my brain has chosen to retain it.

It is these small snippets of human nature – the time someone brushes their teeth or the way they like to sleep – that make up a person. We can all make career choices or change the colour of our hair or the clothing size we fit into. It is the things we do without thinking that create impressions on other people.

So that one day, when they’re not even trying to think about you, a line from a book will bring you to life again. It’s reassuring, that.

Mum

This isn’t necessarily what I meant by regular posting, but it happened and I wanted to write about it.

Happy Sunday

x

4 responses to “Brushing your teeth.

  1. “Brushing your teeth. | fightcancerwithfood” Matchstick
    Blinds in reality got me personally hooked on your web page!
    Iwill certainly be back again even more often. Many thanks ,Antonietta

  2. I love the concept. God provided us with the bodies to use the foods that he provided us with to keep us healthy.

    One way I have used food to improve my health is through the coffee that I consumed. Recently I discovered an organic coffee that has the equivalent level of antioxidants as a pint of blueberries in every cup. 6 times more than other coffee.

    Coffee is a great source of antioxidants and coffee is the number one source of antioxidants in the American diet. What is not known is that until recently coffee roasted using traditional methods only contained 1/6 of the antioxidants of the raw coffee bean. That is due to the high heat in the roasting process which destroys the antioxidants. There is a new Patented Roasting method that preserves the antioxidants right to the finished cup of coffee. In fact it does not alter the flavor or the taste. You can learn more about this breakthrough roasting method at http://superantioxidantcoffee.com There you will find scientific research about this break through roasting process. Super antioxidant coffee is made with organic coffee beans.

    I also added Virgin Coconut oil that I purchase at Costco to my morning coffee. All in all I continue to look for new ways to complement my nutrition. Thank you for your wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

