Parsnip Apple Bread.

Some people let things go easily. They give up after something doesn’t work out the first time and let it slip out of their consciousness as easily as butter through a crumpet hole. Forgotten.

There are times when I have wished that was me. An off switch would definitely have come in handy from time to time, because I am not good at being one of those people. I like to think that have a pretty good balance between my cynicism and my idealism, so I know when to make decisions with my head and when I should go along and trust my heart. But I don’t like to let things go easily. If I fail at something once, you can be damn sure that I will give it another go. Just to prove it wrong, if nothing else.

So on that note… Look what I did!

Parsnip Apple Bread

It seems like it really was September thwarting my attempts to make this Parsnip Apple Bread, because this one turned out awesome.

If you’re weirded out by the thought of parsnip in a sweet bread… well, get over it. Zucchini bread is a thing, carrot cake is a thing, parsnip bread should totally be more of a thing. It has that slightly sweet flavour that lends itself easily to this type of recipe, and tastes amazing combined with apple. Plus, as we’re into this healthy food stuff, it’s an excellent source of fibre and gives you an extra dose of potassium, vitamin C, vitamin K, folate and manganese [see for yourself here]. In short, it’s a vegetable and it’s good for you.

Let’s put it into cake.

Parsnip Apple Bread
1 3/4 cups wholewheat self-raising flour
1/4 cup oats
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3 tbsp ground flaxseed
3 tbsp sugar (I used coconut palm sugar, which is awesome)
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup parsnip (2 large/3 medium parsnips), grated and strained <— see below!
1 large apple, 3/4 grated and 1/4 cubed, strained
1 1/4 cups milk (I used Almond)
3 tbsp liquid sweetener (Maple/honey/agave)
1 tsp vanilla essence

Preheat your oven to 180C, please.

Now you can grate your parsip up.

Plop the shreds into a clean teatowel and strain it over a sink. Seriously, squeeze the crap out of it. You’d be surprised how much juice can come out of a parsnip, and you don’t want any of it; that’s what results in those soggy bottoms.

Do the same with your grated and cubed apple. I’m specific about those cubes, they’ll be like little bites of preciousness when it’s done.

grated parsnip and apple

Now, add your flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, flaxseed, sugar annd spices to a large bowl and mix it all up.

In a separate bowl, combine the milk, syrup and vanilla. Add it all, plus the parsnip and apple, to the large bowl.

parsnip apple bread

Mix up and pour into a greased loaf tin.

parsnip apple bread

Bake for 50-60 mins, until a knife comes out clean.

I had high hopes for this one, it looked pretty promising when it came out of the oven.

parsnip apple bread

It forms a crunchy crust, yet remains soft and fluffy in the middle.

parsnip apple bread

You see, even if it takes three separate attempts, I’ll get it right. I told you I could get on board with this Autumn thing.

 

5 responses to “Parsnip Apple Bread.

Leave a Reply

